Wk 1 – Classmate Conversation – Shannon Jenich

Spring semester is here at last! To be honest, I wasn’t expecting to make new friends since I’ve already been at Cal State Long Beach for three semesters and counting. However, I was proven wrong as soon as I walked into my ART 110 class. I decided to sit on the right side of the classroom, and little did I know that I would later meet such a sweet and genuine person. With me, first impressions really do matter. Now, given that, Shannon Jenich definitely knocked it out of the park with this one!

As soon as we were given the signal to talk to our classmates, Shannon turned around swiftly and introduced herself. I remembered her saying, “Hiiiiii, I’m Shannon Jenich!” She said it so enthusiastically that I knew at that moment we were going to click and talk nonstop. At one moment, I took quite a long glance at her because it occurred to me that she looked very familiar, like a face of the past type of thing. But we’ll get to the plot twist later! We first started off by talking about our majors, mine being pre-nursing and hers being human development. She did tell me additionally though that she wanted to be a nurse as well in the future. Hospitals will be receiving great assets to their team in the future cause we’re coming 😉 Anyways, moving on to her family, she told me that she has a sister that just got married in December of last year. At that point, a light bulb lit up and a bell rang in my head. This Shannon Jenich that I just met in Art 110 was indeed the sister of my friend from a theatre class I had fall semester of 2016!

16388788_1416086218409899_794124748_o

My theatre friend and Shannon’s sister named Ashley Jenich was a great subject of our conversation since we didn’t even realize we had a mutual friend/sister before meeting each other in our ART 110 class. It may sound weird, but I didn’t really know of Shannon because I was only great friends with her sister, Ashley. Even though Shannon was at the wedding, I only saw a glimpse of her face here and there; however, there wasn’t a time where it was possible for an introduction since the bride to be (Ashley Jenich) was busy on the day of her wedding. Anyways, there’s a picture below of Shannon’s sister with her beautiful flower crown, and I’m just next to her with the thumbs up sign.

16389098_1416152838403237_838106452_o

Besides talking about school and our personal life, we talked about the question of the week. This week’s question is: “What emotion does the color red bring up for you?”When I asked Shannon this question, she simply giggled and answered in the most adorable way possible. She told me that it reminded her of love and romance because of hearts and roses being red. We then talked about how Valentine’s Day is approaching, and how the color red plays such a vital role in this specified occasion. Sadly, class was coming to an end at this point even if I didn’t want it to. I was honestly having so much fun getting to know Shannon that I found it wasn’t enough time to talk to her. I’m just glad that I have this whole semester to chat it out with my newfound friend. Shannon, if you’re looking at my blog, keep on being the nice person that you are! 🙂 Oh, and here’s a link to her blog too if any of my viewers want to check out another amazing person’s feed: https://sjenich.wordpress.com !

Leave a Reply

